Amigu-what-i?

14 Jul

I still consider myself a novice knitter even though non-knitters are often impressed by my projects.  Ross thought I had mastered the craft until he saw Eunny Jang power through a row of 2×2 cable on Knitting Daily – then he agreed that I may have a few things to learn.  Unfortunately, when you live in Houston there really isn’t a need for a lot of the knitted goods that would help me learn new skills.  Sweaters are too hot, scarves are ridiculous, and I haven’t worn a hat in Texas ever (obviously woolen mittens and socks are also out of the question).  Though I did suck it up and learn how to make a few hats for skiing, socks for slippers, and scarves to hang in my coat closet (I actually have more than 10 knitted and unworn scarves), I had been feeling a little uninspired as temperatures rose to “sauna” and needed something other than winter and baby things to knit.  Enter:  Amigurumi.

I’ll admit that at first sight, knitting monster-like critters did not appeal to my style.  It was not until I found a pattern for this little critter that I knew I had found my summer project.   I whipped up my own elephant that night and the next day found myself at Barnes and Noble searching for pattern books.  I found two excellent resources:

Amigurumi World

This book contains basic crochet patterns to make a whole zoo of small critters.  Though my crochet experience begins and ends at the granny square, I found that the patterns were fairly easy to master and I was able to crank out an octopus, turtle, and duck!  Pictures of the octopus and turtle will be posted once Southwest Airlines realizes that my suitcase does NOT belong in Harlingen and manage to return it to me – pictures of the duck will be never because I already gave it to my eight year old cousin and, well, I’d rather have my toys be played with than photographed.  If you’re a new-ish crocheter who only learned crochet to embellish her knitting with flowers, then this adorable book is for you.

And:

Amigurumi Knits

This book is all knits, which I initially was much more comfortable with.  After attempting (and completing, thankfully!) a few of the projects, this book is much more advanced.  It’s nothing excessively hard that a few youtube clips can’t help me with, which is EXACTLY what I wanted!  Plus, it contains a whole section of knitted food and a section of mythical creatures, which is most excellent.

The most lovely part of knitting small toys is that for some reason they are far more impressive to my knitting clientèle (read: people who are related to me) than anything else I’ve made.  Who knew that a knitted elephant that I made in an hour would be more impressive than socks that took weeks?   The same cousin who now owns a wee duck was thrilled – he began looking through my books, claiming that they were like an awesome catalog where you just pick what you want, choose the color and in a few hours you have a new toy.  That is until he found the pattern for the 2-foot giant squid, which may take more than a few hours…

2 Responses to “Amigu-what-i?”

  1. Lori July 14, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    I think it is all totally genius!

  2. Katie July 17, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    I made the eggplant from that book! I posted it here:
    http://nevturiel.wordpress.com/2010/07/17/so-friday-its-saturday/

    I love amigurumi. I just wish it didn’t kill my fingers and wrists!

Leave a Reply

