A cookie without sugar – is a cracker.

17 Jul

I’ve never fancied myself an excellent baker of cookies.  I can produce adequate, edible cookies, but I rarely bake them and nearly always prefer to bake pies and cupcakes.  When Ross requested chocolate chip cookies tonight, I figured I could make some generic cookies and be fine – after all, the man did only recently discover that one could MAKE dough and thus produce cookies with only pantry staples (have I mentioned he’s an aspiring surgeon??).

Unfortunately (at the time), I had bought fancy chocolate chips on a recommendation from America’s Test Kitchens weeks ago and neglected to remember that the only chocolate chip cookies that I’ve ever made have been from the recipe on the bag of tollhouse chocolate chips.  Admittedly I froze for a minute – but then remembered that I am a competent adult with a library of cookbooks and there was bound to be a recipe available to follow (FYI: In recipes I tend to use the word “follow” loosely.  This drives my aforementioned husband, the aspiring surgeon, biochemistry major, absolutely bonkers).  I had to look no further than the ATK baking book to find a simple enough recipe and thirty minutes later the cookies emerged.  Now, while Ross has always applauded my baking, special attention was paid to these cookies – we both agreed that they may have been the most delicious chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever made!  Ross even stated that I could likely quit my day job and only make these cookies (he may or may not be biased).  Also, instead of making a paltry 24 as the recipe indicated, I came out with 41 cookies, which may be dangerous in the upcoming weekend.

Here’s the basic recipe (From America’s Test Kitchens Baking Book):

2 Cups and 2 Tbsp. Flour

1 Tsp. salt

1 Tsp. baking soda

1.5 sticks of butter (I used unsalted)

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp Vanilla extract

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325.  Sift flour, salt, and soda together.  Melt the butter and mix with both sugars until smooth (1-2 minutes).  Add both eggs and vanilla and beat until incorporated.  Add in flour mixture slowly.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Roll into balls and bake 15-20 minutes (15 was perfect for me).

I made a few alterations, beginning with the chocolate chips.  See, I’m not a huge chocolate eater, but I know what’s good, and the higher the percentage of cacao, the better.  When I spied these bad boys at the grocery store, I knew something had to be up!  Basically, ghirardelli makes chocolate chips that are 60% cacao, and they are bittersweet rather than semi-sweet, which means less sugar and a richer chocolate flavor.  Incidentally, it also means that we ate about half of the bag before even adding them to the dough.  They are a peculiar shape, but don’t let that turn you off – they are excellent!

Sorry for the fuzzy picture, but note the odd, oversized disc shape of these puppies – weird!

I also used dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar because I bought some awesome dark brown sugar at HEB that pretty much tastes like heaven and I even put it in things that don’t call for brown sugar, so, of course I put it in these cookies.  My only other major adjustment was adding 1/4 of ground flaxseed in place of the 2 T of flour.  I pretty much add flax to all baked goods – it adds no discernible taste and is far healthier than white flour.  Plus, then you can peddle your baked goods as healthy even when, after eating more than five, they most certainly are not.

One Response to “A cookie without sugar – is a cracker.”

  1. Lori July 17, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    Divine!

Leave a Reply

