Huevos Rancheros and Maya Angelou

1 Sep

When I set out to start a blog, I knew this would happen.  I had so much free time during the summer to photograph, to cook, to knit and now?  Gone!  I’ve decided that a short setback ought not stop me and will resolve to bring Shit I Knit back into my life.

Tonight is a good night to start, too.  I made curry vindaloo to end my streak of non-cooking (and resisted it too – we were thisclose to trying out the new 5 Guys that just opened down the street!).  See, I spent two weeks as a bachelorette while Ross was on rotation in Dallas, making my diet consist of hummus, pita bread, diet coke, and grapefruit.  Thankfully he returned home on Saturday and our lives are back to being as normal as possible for a high school teacher and a med student.

Admittedly, there were a few perks to living the “single” life including, but not limited to: not being judged for wearing sweatpants, not getting the side eye for going to bed before nine, not having to pick up dog poop, and being able to slather mentholatum on my nose before bed without hearing Ross wretch with disgust.  However, last week was pretty awful!  The AC is out in the Volkswagen, so I’ve been commuting more than an hour each day in Houston sauna weather during the hottest part of the year.  Add in excessive meetings, a flat tire, plagues of cockroaches followed by ants, and one night of serious nausea and I was pretty much ready for Ross to go ahead and come home.

Thankfully, he brought with him some major turnaround as the last five days have been wonderful!  In honor of that, here are 5 things that I couldn’t be happier about!

1. My new MACBOOK!  Ross purchased our new computer on Monday after both of ours bit the dust simultaneously.  While we both have iphones and I use a Mac at school, this is our first Mac computer purchase and we LOVE it!  The first night we were able to videochat with my parents in Dallas.  We realize this makes us total nerds.

2. Driving a car with air conditioning.  I guess you don’t appreciate what you have until it’s gone – how quickly I forgot the days of high school when I drove the AC-less misty beige Honda… my commute is utter bliss now that I am back behind the wheel of my Scion.  I don’t even care that the windshield is cracked!

3. HBO.  I seriously don’t know how anyone could get through medical school or teaching high school without having a major TV and a billion channels.  We vacillate between paying for HBO/Showtime and paying for Netflix constantly.  I knew that living with my parents (who have HBO) for five weeks would convince Ross to make the change!

4. Curry Vindaloo.  Vindaloo is my most favorite curry.  It’s spicy, flavorful, and pretty easy to make.  Plus it sounds super exotic!  Because Jamie Oliver is all about “spreading the recipes” I don’t think he will mind my sharing 🙂

Curry Vindaloo (from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution)

2 onions, halved and sliced.

4 cloves of garlic, I squished mine through the press.

2 red chiles (which aren’t available in the greater Houston area, so I used serranos), finely chopped

chunk of garlic, finely chopped.

handful of cilantro stalks (you can use the leaves to top the dish later)

Do all of the chopping and then heat a dutch oven (or whatever you’re using) to medium with some peanut oil about a T of butter.  Add all of the veg and simmer for about 10 minutes to soften the onions and brown everything.

Then add 2lbs of meat – we used beef, but I like lamb, too.  Cut it into bite-sized pieces.

Add 1 T of honey

1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup of hot curry paste

4 quartered tomatoes

and about a cup of water to cover everything.  Let it simmer for about an hour and serve over white rice.  I also like greek yogurt with mine to counter the heat.

5. Ross made AΩA!  I was pretty sure he would, but getting the real news was pretty awesome!  It makes me pretty happy to know I married a genius.

Later this week I will be posting the best margarita recipe ever.

Leave a Reply

