This old porch is just a steamin’ greasy plate of Enchiladas…

7 Sep

I love enchiladas.  Sometimes people say they love something, but their love is conditional.  They may say they love pasta, or cookies, or lasagna, or meatloaf, but only their mom’s, or from a specific restaurant, or a specific type, and certainly not every day.  My love for enchiladas is boundless – I could literally eat enchiladas every day of my life and I’ve never encountered a filled tortilla with cheese on top that I didn’t like.

With that in mind, I wanted to share a duo of ‘chilada excellence.  See, my whole life I’ve been eating my mom’s enchiladas, which are the ultimate in comfort food.  They are cheesy, delicious, and even better eaten as leftovers.  It was only when I moved away from home (at age 22…) that I realized they are also easy to make and hard to screw up.  Here’s how!

Mom’s Enchiladas

1 Can Golden mushroom soup

1 Can Cheddar cheese soup

1 can chicken broth

1 can Rotel

Dump the contents of the four cans into a saucepan over med-low heat (you just want everything to melt together), stir until smooth and hot.

1 bag corn tortillas

1 large brick of cheddar cheese (I like the Tillamook baby loaf), grated

1 box fresh mushrooms

1 can black olives

Chop the olives and mushrooms and microwave together until soft.  Heat the tortillas in the oven (I put them in stacks of 4 with a little olive oil between each for 5 minutes on like 250°.

Set up shop – it works easier with 2-3 people.  One person needs to dip each tortilla in the sauce and the other needs to stuff them with a bit of the olive/mushroom mixture and cheese, roll it up and put it seam-side down in a 9×13 pan.  This process gets quite messy – and sometimes your tortillas will split.  This totally doesn’t matter.  It can literally look like total crap and still be good.  When you finish, pour the rest of the sauce on top and top with a generous amount of cheese.  Bake at 350° for 25 minutes.

Delicious!  I like them with Spanish rice and my secret bean recipe (1 can black beans, 1 can rotel).

Bliss!

Now, I thought I had reached enchilada nirvana, so when Ross suggested we try a meatier version, I was way skeptical.  It’s not that I’m opposed to eating meat, I just tend to not really care for it.  Its was tough though, because that Pioneer Woman has never lead me astray…

So we tried them.  While I can’t say with any integrity that they are BETTER than the classics, I can say that they are equally delicious.  So much so that if you were to have a party, you ought to serve both.

As always, PW takes much better photos of her step-by-step than I do, so I’ll just hook you up with a link.  Note that this is one of the recipes in her cookbook, which I do love.

DELICIOUS ENCHILADAS!!

My only change was using grass-fed beef instead of store bought.  This is pretty easy to do when your parents purchase a cow and share a few of the 400 + pounds of delicious beef with you.  His name was Rusty, and I like to think he would have approved of these enchiladas.

I tried to take a picture, but by the time I remembered, and didn’t have cheese all over my fingers, this happened:

I think it kind of speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

